Brain Drain

Well, you spell BRAIN DRAIN and I feel bewildered and angry at the same time. I feel like the entire world is accusing me of not working in my own country but having come to the US to earn money.When  Daphne spoke of brain drain, I was almost furious. But this was our first date. I tried to smile back. She was speaking of all the pyscho-social effects of leaving home. The pro-longed separation from your family and loved ones can change relationships, she said. God! That reminded me of my sweet love who was far away in the Philippines.

“Yes, things change”, I mumbled.

“It is not just long distance relationship”, Daphne interrupted. “My mom and dad both were working away from home. My mom was a cleaner in Hong Kong, while my dad worked as a nurse in the US.”

“Ah!” I sipped some coffee. “But Filipinos have great career opportunities these days. It isn’t only blue collared work overseas”, I made my point.

“Well”, she said. Her chin tilted upwards with pride, “My dad is a doctor, but you see what he got when he went to the US, he became a nurse. Yes, you call it under employment!”, she thumped her fist on the table. There was a little storm in my coffee cup. I looked at her with the same mixed feelings- little bewildered and little angry. I tried to change the topic. I asked her if she would send money home. She said she would. Her parents had not saved enough for their retirement. So, she was going to support them.

“I will however save money for my old age”, she exulted. “I will transfer a fixed amount every month to my Pinoy account.  And yes, thanks for introducing me to remit2home, she said finishing her Latte.

I signaled the waiter to get the check, wondering if I should leave a tip!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment